Neurointerventional Fellowship Match

Dear Fellowship Program Director:

Representatives appointed by the Society of NeuroInterventional Surgery, the Cerebrovascular Section of the American Association of Neurological Surgeons/Congress of Neurological Surgeons, and the Society of Vascular and Interventional Neurology have collaborated to initiate a Fellowship Match process for training in Neurointervention. The application process will occur via the Electronic Resident Application Service (ERAS), and the Match will be administered by the National Resident Matching Program (NRMP). The goal is to provide a unified approach for interested applicants to find training, as well as to streamline the application process for Fellowship Programs. The Match is open to currently accredited multi-specialty Neurointerventional Fellowship Programs.

The Match would occur in May 2026, and would apply to fellows starting in July 2027. Please download and review this documents package which includes the following:

  1. Neurointerventional Fellowship Match Information, which contains important information that outline our rationale and plan for the Match;
  2. Neurointerventional Fellowship Match Letters of Commitment and Endorsement, which contains the MOU that would constitute each program’s agreement to commit all positions from 2027 on to the Match; and
  3. Neurointerventional Fellowship Match Memorandum of Understanding, which contains a few short forms with basic information about the number of positions offered for the Match, and information for the institutional ACGME DIO.

The Neurointerventional Fellowship Match Task Force held town hall meetings during October-November 2023 to educate and receive input from program directors. A short summary of information provided during these meetings can be found here: Town Hall

Thank you for your time and consideration. Please contact us with any questions and comments at


The Neurointerventional Fellowship Match Task Force

Jenny Tsai             Justin Fraser         James Milburn

Sunil Sheth             J Mocco             Guilherme Dabus

David Liebeskind       Adnan Siddiqui       Reade de Leacy

Michael Chen           William Mack        Mahesh Jayaraman

Johanna Fifi           Adam Arthur         Lee Pride